Extra Points

The Muslins observe Ramadan through the end of the month.   It is spent by Muslims fasting during the daylight hours from dawn to sunset.  Charity, and self-accountability are especially stressed at this time; religious observances associated with Ramadan are kept throughout the month. My son’s good friend is practicing Muslin and observers Ramadan.  No food still sunset.  After sunset he told me it’s an all out feast!

So the other day Sam had a bunch of 16 year old boys over after school and they proceed to take every piece of meat out of the freezer and cook it up.  They are “starving”!  The young man who is observing Ramadan is with them.   I told the boys maybe go a little easy on the feasting, Tosh hasn’t eaten today.  Tosh chimed in.  NO, NO, he said.  It’s OK.  Actually it’s really good.  It’s good for me to smell the food.

It’s give me extra points.  Extra points I asked him?  Yeah he said, extra points.  What do you mean, I asked him.  Like extra points with God?  He looked at me and smiled, and said, yeah, yeah, exactly!  It will make me stronger.  More disciplined.  More committed for the rest of the month.

He was so sweet about it. I just smiled.  I understood where he was coming from.  I was impressed with his “extra points” concept and embraced it. 

Those extra points are really for him, no?  Developing discipline, character and all with such grace. 

 

Start collecting your extra points.  When things get rough, you’ll be able to withdraw a few “points” when needed.  I promise you, you will not regret it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Top Rated

